Open Call

FOTO WIEN in cooperation with OstLicht. Galerie für Fotografie invites photographers, artists and publishers to submit photobooks published 2019–2021 for the festival’s photobook exhibition and Photobook Award 2021. The best photobooks of the last two years – ranging from books by established publishing houses to self-published titles, handmade book dummies, or zines – will be presented at FOTO WIEN. From among all submissions outstanding publications will be selected for the festival’s photobook exhibition, which will be on display at the FOTO WIEN festival headquarters from 10 to 28 March 2021.

Submissions until 8 January 2021

IMG_2794.JPG

Would you like to be part of an international exhibition project and show your work at three European photo festivals? FOTO WIEN together with Mois européen de la photographie Luxembourg and IMAGO LISBOA invites artists to submit their photographic work in our open call for Slide Show: Rethinking Nature. The selected photographic works will be arranged into an audio-visual slide show, which will be set to music by musicians. Slide Show: Rethinking Nature will be first presented during FOTO WIEN 2021, and will be screened several times over the course of the festival. Further screenings will take place at the photo festival EMOP LUX in spring 2021, and the photo festival IMAGO LISBOA in autumn 2021.

On the topic of “Rethinking Nature”

Ever since his invention, photography has played a defining role in the representation and perception of nature and landscape. In the face of climate crisis and a changing relationship between nature and humankind, an increasing number of artists have engaged with these issues in recent years. Slide Show: Rethinking Nature illustrates the broad spectrum of approaches taken by international contemporary artists, and brings together diverse photographic perspectives on this globally important topic.

Submissions until 10 January 2021

Kong#1_sRGB_gif.jpg

Open Call

FOTO WIEN lädt in Kooperation mit OstLicht. Galerie für Fotografie FotografInnen, KünstlerInnen und Verlage ein, ihre seit 2019 publizierten Fotobücher für die Fotobuch-Ausstellung und den Photobook Award 2021 einzureichen. Handgefertigte Book-Dummies, Zines, in Verlagen erschienene oder selbstpublizierte Publikationen – die besten Fotobücher der vergangenen zwei Jahre werden in der FOTO WIEN-Festivalzentrale präsentiert. Aus allen Einsendungen werden herausragende Publikationen für die Fotobuch-Ausstellung ausgewählt, die vom 10. bis 28. März 2021 in der FOTO WIEN-Festivalzentrale zu sehen ist. Aus den in der Ausstellung gezeigten Fotobüchern wählt die Jury die Gewinner für den FOTO WIEN Photobook Award 2021 aus. Das erstplatzierte Fotobuch wird mit einem Preisgeld von 1.500 Euro gewürdigt, der zweite und dritte Platz mit jeweils 750 Euro.

Einreichungen bis zum 8. Jänner 2021

IMG_2794.JPG

Möchten Sie Teil eines internationalen Ausstellungsprojekts sein und Ihre Arbeiten auf drei europäischen Fotofestivals präsentieren? FOTO WIEN lädt zusammen mit Mois européen de la photographie Luxembourg und IMAGO LISBOA Künstlerinnen und Künstler ein, ihre fotografischen Arbeiten im Rahmen des Calls Slide Show: Rethinking Nature bis 10. Jänner 2021 einzureichen. Die ausgewählten Fotoarbeiten werden zu einer audiovisuellen Slideshow arrangiert, die von MusikerInnen vertont wird. Slide Show: Rethinking Nature wird im Rahmen der FOTO WIEN 2021 uraufgeführt und während des Festivals mehrmals gezeigt. Weitere Vorführungen finden im Rahmen des Fotofestivals Mois européen de la photographie Luxembourg im Frühjahr 2021 und des Fotofestivals IMAGO LISBOA im Herbst 2021 statt.

Zum Thema „Rethinking Nature“

Der Fotografie kommt seit der Erfindung des Mediums eine prägende Rolle bei der Wahrnehmung und Darstellung von Natur und Landschaft zu. Angesichts der Klimakrise und der sich verändernden Beziehung von Mensch und Natur haben sich in den vergangenen Jahren viele KünstlerInnen verstärkt diesem Thema angenommen. Slide Show: Rethinking Nature zeigt das breite Spektrum internationaler zeitgenössischer Tendenzen und bringt die vielfältigen fotografischen Blickwinkel zu diesem großen globalen Thema zusammen.

Einreichungen bis zum 10. Jänner 2021

Kong#1_sRGB_gif.jpg